Thoughtful Thursday ~ 2nd edition

Since Thoughtful Thursday became all about the cookie trays, I decided to do a continuation post discussing the Christmas meal….  With both posts and recipes, I will provide links as I make the dishes.  On Christmas day, we do an open house type day, where friends and family stop in whenever and stay as long as they like…  the food is ALWAYS “on” because we do crockpot type food and PLENTY of it!  There is always a main meat with fresh delicious rolls, a soup, a pasta dish, potato dish and tons of appetizers and desserts for everyone… including the mucho requested chocolate fountain and certainly those all intensive cookie trays!!  This year my menu includes (subject to change):

 

Shredded Beef – recipe from Mrs. Davis… best sandwich ever!!!

French Onion Soup – my husband is a pro, has become a staple when we have beef!

Baked Ziti

Party Potatoes

Hot Dips –

  • Chicken Wing Dip
  • Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Taco Dip – but which one? 

  • Hot Chili’n’Cheese Taco Dip (Shelly Burdett’s recipe)
  • Hot Cheesy Taco Dip (Jeni Dean’s recipe)
  • Cold Salsa Dip

Cold Dips –

  • Crab Dip
  • Shrimp Dip
  • Pepper Jelly Dip
  • Bread Dip

The dips listed are favorites that popped into my head… but over the next few weeks we have four parties to go to and my work holiday party that I will bring a “dish to pass” so I will divide and conquer this list and still get to have all of my favorites throughout the month!!  Hmm – what to bring where??  Any request or insights??

Now where is that Wii Fit board???

 

 

 

 

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on December 1, 2011, in family, Get Organized!, Meals. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. MMM…just thought of baked brie too… with the rasberry jam and baked crust… YUMMO!!!

  2. Great! We will stop in sometime on Christmas Day!

  3. All the meatballs…. how could I forget all the meatballs??
    Swedish – love that cr./mushroom soup
    Sweat and Sour – chili sauce and jelly
    Saucy – 7up and ketchup

  4. You said friends and family are welcome so you better let me in when I arrive!

  5. Tortollini (sp) with dips – how could I forget that??

  6. What about little smokies wrapped in bacon, or cresent weinies… Stuffed shrimp or mushrooms, and butter baked shrimp?? Wow – the list is endless… I need to pick just a few favorites!!

  7. New add-on, Jessi’s Chicken Ramaki’s… AWESOME!!!!!!!

  8. What about the standard trays? Veggies and Dip, Cheese, Pepperoni and Crackers…

  9. OMG – I forgot the Cowboy Caviar… seems summer – y, but I am going to serve it as a centerpiece to my cheese and pepperoni tray!!

Leave a Reply

