The BEST EVER Pumpkin Cookies with ‘Caramel’ frosting (penuche)

Pumpkin Cookies

I tried 4 recipes… they all left me wanting more… I took a leap and combined ingredients, made a few small changes and created what my whole family has deemed ‘ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS’ pumpkin cookies!! These are so soft and plump and yummy – perfect on their own…. BUT the frosting – OMG – Penuche fudge anyone?? To die for! I also thinned the frosting with additional milk and just used it as a glaze because there are a few in my family who think some things are too sweet…. That’s the CRAZY (in-law) side – shhhhhh!! J

I never even got a picture of the glazed ones or the chocolate chip (unfrosted) ones… but never fear, these have been requested for this weekend’s tail gating so I will update soon!

Without further ado –

 

The BEST EVER PUMPKIN COOKIES with “Caramel” Frosting:

 

PUMPKIN COOKIES –

  • Cream Together (I used my new kitchen-aide!!)

1/4 c. oil

1/4 c. melted butter

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. sugar

  • Then add:

1 c. canned pumpkin

1 egg

1 TBSP milk

2 tsp vanilla

  • Continue mixing on low, and add:

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon AND 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I went heavy J)

1/2 tsp salt

  • ADD:

2c flour

  • Blend on Medium for just a minute… until fully combined and (if desired) add:

1 c nuts OR chocolate chips – optional

 

Drop using regular scoop and Bake on ungreased cookie sheet – @ 375 for 10 minutes

Makes about 2 dozen so go ahead and double up!!

 

‘Caramel’ FROSTING –

Melt 3 Tbsp butter and 1/2 c. brown sugar in a sauce pan, on very low and stirring constantly, until slightly thick. Cool slightly and add 1/4 c milk, beat/mix until smooth. Add about 2 cups confectionary sugar until frosting consistency. * This is the frosting in the pictures (thick).

I also added another ¼ cup milk and thinned the frosting using it as a glaze… I simply dipped the cookies in the glaze and they were also delicious!!

 

Let me know what you think!!

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on September 12, 2014, in Meals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just made these. They were the best cookies ever! My family is begging for more. Thanks for this recipe!

  2. Hi, some of the family at Snug Valley Farm in Vermont has been making these cookies and loves them. Wondering if we could post them on our web site’s cookbook. We’d give you credit of course.

Leave a Reply

