Hot Chocolate Cookies… BEST Cookie EVER!!

Hot Chocolate Cookies

OOO MMMM GGGGG!! I found my BLISS, my true love… the one thing that can correct ALL the world issues… THESE cookies!!

I saw them on TV, I remembered my Gramma and my Mom making these when I was little (I actually remember cutting the marshmallows), then I looked up the recipe and found a couple that looked perfect. I played around and I FORCED my family to taste test… Just like with the amazing pumpkin cookies (HERE) I believe a true test of a good cookie is if the dough itself tastes good PLAIN… and these smelled so scrumptious and tasted even better – and that was BEFORE I put the marshmallow and fudge frosting on!!! (I am going to double the recipe for Christmas platters and make some rolled sugar cookies out of the dough as well as these!)

There are a couple steps involved, but they are easy – and OH SO worth it!! These cookies are my new all-time favorite… trust me… I would not steer you wrong!!!

 

Hot Chocolate Cookies

 

Ingredients:

 

For the cookies-

*melt together on the stovetop

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) ‘salted’ butter
  • 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate

 

*sift together in a bowl

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

 

*mix on low with mixer

  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract

 

*cut in ½ for putting on cookie after cooking

  • 20 (??) large marshmallows

For the icing –

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) melted
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Assorted sprinkles

 

Directions:

 

Make the cookies-

1.) In a saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate, stirring frequently. Once melted, set aside to cool slightly.

2.) In a bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder.

3.) With your mixer, beat the sugar, eggs and vanilla on low speed until well combined.

4.) Add the chocolate mixture and blend until just combined.

5.) Then while still mixing, add the flour mixture slowly and blend until combined.

* Refrigerate the dough for about 1 hour.

6.) Preheat oven to 325*F. and lightly grease (or use parchment paper or silpat liner) your cookie sheets. Use a tablespoon sized cookie scoop to scoop the dough, then roll the dough in your hands to create balls. Arrange about 2 inches apart. * On my first go I made the cookies too big… you should get about 40 balls. Bake the cookies about 10 minutes.

7.) Once baked, press one marshmallow half (cut side down) into the center of each cookie. Return to the oven and bake another 2 minutes – Just to toast the marshmallow.  After cooling a couple of minutes, transfer cookies to cooling racks.

8.) Prepare cookie icing by combining all ingredients in a saucepan (melting butter) and mixing together with a whisk.  Icing will be runny but will harden after it sets – don’t make the mistake of adding more powdered sugar because you think it’s too runny… cuz then you have FUDGE and that would be just awful!! Spoon a small amount of icing (I used a teaspoon) onto the top of each marshmallow, and use the back of the spoon to spread it a bit.

IMPORTANT TIP: After icing just a couple cookies, top with sprinkles BEFORE the icing dries (or your sprinkles won’t stick).

 

Recipe source- Rachael Ray, Glorious Treats, and Stepable

 

 

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on November 19, 2014, in Meals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

