Kicken’ Chicken ~ My version of ANGEL Chicken

Angel Chicken - MY Kicken' Chicken!!

Kick’en Chicken (Slow Cooker Angel Chicken)

Okay I started with your standard Angel Chicken recipe… it was really kind of bland – even for me… I am learning to love the red pepper flakes and garlic powder, but that still wasn’t enough… AND my sauce was so thick that even with my addition of milk, it still needed something… BAM (I said to myself – on the cooking show in my head)…. ZESTY Italian Dressing!! The ZESTY took it right where it needed to be… creating a sauce I could have drank (drunk? – maybe with some VODKA… OMG – why didn’t I try that??) right from the pot and saved myself the carbs of the pasta… but I used Angel hair pasta and there is no room for carbs in those tiny, thin noodles – right? RIGHT??!!

So at this point – starting with the original recipe and all of my additions, I ended up with enough sauce for 4 complete meals… I quickly bagged up chicken breasts in 2lb bags and added 2 heaping cups of sauce to each one… NICE – 3 extra freezer meals ready to go!

Then with pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard as it may be… GAWD why aren’t a poet??) I “fixed” the recipe to make it ‘normal’ meal size. AND I renamed the recipe – because now it is a “KICKED UP” version of Angel Chicken!

BUT – This is still a BIG meal – using 4lbs (or 1 big pack of breasts) so either serve it for company, or know you will have left-overs, or plan and set aside ½ the chicken making yourself a complete freezer meal – ready to go for another day! *Truthfully you could ½ all the ingredients, but who wants a ½ packet of dressing or ½ can of soup left laying around…

 

Here are the Ingredients ~

  • 1/4 cup Butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1 packet Italian Dressing Mix Powder (0.7 ounces each)
  • 1 Cup Chicken Broth (I made mine with a bouillon cube)
  • 1 cans golden mushroom soup
  • 4 ounces cream cheese (1/2 brick)
  • 1/2 Bottle ZESTY Italian Dressing
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 TBSP Red Pepper Flakes

 

  • 4 lbs (+) chicken breast

 

  • 16 ounce box angel hair pasta (or 2 if you are making this all now, or another box for later when you pull the freezer meal out) Some have even mentioned preferring RICE

Angel Chicken

Instructions ~

 

  • Okay – if you are making all of the chicken at once, simply place the chicken (I cut my breasts in ½ width wise then again length wise… creating ‘chicken strips’) in your crockpot.

(If you are making 1 meal now and 1 for the freezer, place ½ the chicken in the crock and ½ in a freezer bag… If you are spontaneous or just CRAZY like me, you can then eyeball all of the sauce ingredients and place ½ of each on each chicken meal… or you can mix the sauce ingredients all in a bowl and then put ½ on each… your call… your circus! – Oh wait, that’s a whole ‘nother show in my head!!)

Angel Chicken Freezer Meal

  • Add all of the sauce ingredients on top of the chicken, give it a good stir…
  • Turn crock pot on low for 6-8 hours
  • When ready for dinner, prepare the pasta according to box, stir the chicken mixture again – shredding up some of the larger chunks if you prefer…. And serve it over a heaping plate of pasta!

 

SERIOUSLY – this may have become my new all-time favorite meal… give it a try!!

 

 

 

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on February 17, 2015, in Get Organized!, Meals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

