Sunday Funday, Weekly Menu ~ Meal Plan

Steak sides

Wow – what a GORGEOUS weekend – right?!!

Thankfully it was perfect for hanging clothes out – since my drier QUIT – AGHHHH – I try not to complain too much but SERIOUSLY that is the 5th major appliance/expensive thing (dishwasher, furnace, fridge, complete dash in my car and then the drier) this season… not to mention the ‘great flood’ caused by the blocked pipes…. And the main reason I have so much laundry right now….UGHHHHH

So we had a rule today… NO TV! I figured I would have a war on my hands and actually, I am the only one who felt the LOSS! I like to start my Sunday with FOOD NETWORK… a little Pioneer Woman, a little Trisha… but an hour turns into a few hours and before I know it, it is afternoon and I am way behind… so the TV never even went on today and not until after dinner was it even questioned again and I easily “stuck to my guns” and off to bed early went everyone – ‘cept me , of course!!  I could use a good dose of “Intervention” now but I am NOT giving in!  Maybe a new SUNDAY habit…. it’s quite nice (certainly better than Meatless Monday – hahaha)

So what’s a girl to do…. A little couponing…. A little prepping… and a whole lotta meal planning to get us through the week with baseball and softball every night and the anticipated trips to the laundry mat to dry what we can wash in between.

 

WHAT GOT PREPPED FOR THE WEEK’S MEALS:

 

  • Prepped 5 lbs of chicken by trimming, seasoning and cooking it. I set aside ½ and poured SPEEDIE SAUCE on it to marinade and I chopped the other half more for Tortellini Soup.
  • Browned and “taco-ed” (totally a word!!) 5 lbs of ground beef since my freezer stash was low of that too.
  • Chopped veggies for the week (carrots, celery, cukes and sweet peppers) and I made a HUGE salad for the first few meals.
  • Cleaned , wrapped (tin foil)and baked a bag of potatoes with intent of having LOADED BAKED POTATOES for our MEATLESS MONDAY DINNER but they smelled so delicious and my cheese sauce turned out so good that I quickly steamed a bag of broccoli and had them tonight with an amazing steak!

 

ON THE MENU THIS WEEK:

 

Chicken Speedies… cubed chicken sautéed in fireman’s “speedie” sauce either plain, on salad, or in a yummy little hoagie roll with a bit of cheese, mayo and some crisp, crunchy veggies!

Dorito Taco Bake… still haven’t officially got to this one yet… but it’s a for sure this week because SMART Momma actually HID the Doritos as to ensure they would be there for my recipe!

Tortellini Soup (my very own recipe found HERE)…. A HUGE family favorite and perfect after a night on the ball field with plenty to share!

Pizza Bites – from a package… SERIOUSLY! I got a killer deal on the new Hot Pocket Pizza Rolls and since K and I were invited to a dinner show (one of those ‘Joey and Maria’s Wedding – dinner theatres), the kids luck out!

Chicken Fajita Pasta… saw the recipe HERE and am dying to try it!

Mongolian Beef… over rice… Using the steak from our Sunday Dinner to make a quick stir fry… a friend shared her recipe and it got tons of rave reviews to I will definitely give it a go although I have to admit I have never looked at a MONGOLIAN recipe before because of the stereotypical thought that Mongolia has no food…. Did anyone else think that?? Just me?? OK – moving on….

Another meal will totally end up being BREAKFAST for dinner, snacky stuff like cheese and crackers and fruit or even leftovers, so I am not stressing about a 7th meal!

And then the plan for next SUNDAY SUPPER is a good ole’ pork roast!

WHAT are YOU having this week? Any BIG plans?? Do tell – I LOVE the comments!!!

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on April 19, 2015, in Meals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

