How I get FREE gas @ Tops….

The Goal ~

So – here is the deal… I swear to goodness that I am not making commission from TOPS – YET = LOL – but honestly why would you not spend an hour of your time figuring out some deals that work for you and planning a shopping trip that could gain you enough groceries to get through the month all while earning FREE gas…???

 I spent a total of $69.07 this week and hit $3.00 off per gallon… I filled up because I needed to and I got 26.9 gallons of gas for $21.52 – a savings of $80.79 – I saved more than I even spent on groceries!! I drive a Yukon so it generally costs me $100 to fill up, I have to drive and I have to buy gas and I have to pay one way or the other so I took the same amount of money and invested it in groceries – staples that my family uses anyhow and earned the gas for FREE!! Really – you are paying for one or the other, why not get BOTH for the price you would pay anyhow….

The Deets ~

Remember – In addition to a small percentage of your out of pocket purchase price, Tops awards you 10 points for each manufacture coupon you use, and 10 points are the equivalent of $.01… you can earn up to 100 points per order (10 coupons) and again, 100 points is equivalent to $.10 of a gallon of gas.

Each week Tops offers BONUS purchases that allow you to earn 200 BONUS points – on top of the coupon bonus… so buying that specific purchase you are automatically adding .20 off per gallon and if you used 10 coupons for your total order you would also get the additional .10 for a total of .30 off per gallon. Do you know what .30 off per gallon is worth? $9.00 – that’s right NINE buckaroos!!

The way I look at it is that is a $9 savings off what I just bought – since I need to buy gas anyway… So what did your order cost you… $20?? Well with a $9 discount, you just saved a ton of cash or almost 50%…. AWESOME!!!!

The “I.E.”s ~

During “DOLLAR DOUBLER” week at TOPS, you have so many opportunities to get awesome deals for essentially FREE and even if it means buying A LOT extra, you are pretty much getting equal value in FREE gas (which you would certainly buy anyhow) so you NEED to try a few of these examples!

The 200 bonus points is amazing!!!

 

Examples offering 200 bonus points –

 

1. Tostito’s and Dip (cheese, spinach, salsa) @ 3/$10 = $3.33 each

Diet Pepsi, 2lt @ 3/$5 = $1.67 each

Buy 2 of each (chips, dip, pop) = $16.66

Use 2-$1/2 coupons for chips and dip, 2 – FREE ($1.67) pop wyb chips and dip, and 4 Dollar doublers = $9.34 coupon value

$16.66 – 9.34 =$ 7.32 Out of Pocket

Get 200 Bonus points and 40 extra points for the four coupons = $.24 off per gallon (30 gallons x .24) = $7.20 off $7.32 – $7.20 = $ .12

You just paid $ .12 for 2 bags of Tostitos, 2 dips, and 2 pops – AMAZING!!

Even better – this exact deal is done with only two inserts so you do not have to go crazy on coupons… anyone can do this!!

 

2. Quaker Granola Bars @ 2/$5 Buy 6 total = $15

Use 3-$1/2 coupons and 3-dollar doublers to get $6 off $15-$ coupons = $11 out of pocket

Get 200 Bonus points and 30 extra points for the three coupons = $.23 off per gallon (30 gallons x .23) = $6.90 off

$11 – $6.90 = $ 4.10

You just paid $ 4.10 for 6 boxes of Quaker Granola Bars – That’s .68 per box – BARGOON!!

Now how do I make this exact scenario even better?? Well, once you join “coupon-a-holics anonymous” – who am I hurtin’, seriously?? – you will have a serious stash of coupons for just such a purpose…

In the above example I have one more doubler I can use to reach the 4 per order limit. A perfect one to use here is the pepperoni coupon from the Tops list… with the $1 coupon and the dollar doubler, you just got the $2 pepperoni totally free! – AND added another $.30 worth of free gas total…

30 gallons x .24 (200 bonus points and 40 points from 4 man. coupons) = $7.20 in total gas FREE

Now you have $11 out of pocket – $7.20 in FREE gas = $3.80 or $.54 per item…

Notice how the scenario got even better with no more money out of pocket….??!!

This is some great stuff and I seriously want everyone to save along with me – I am loving the comments about the deals people have gotten this week… keep up the GREAT work and do not be afraid to ask questions – I guarantee someone else has the exact same question!!

About ourREALdeal...

Stepford wife and mother? Not hardly...

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Couponing 101, Deals, TOPS. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Stephanie Mascio

    Wow!! You are awesome! Thank you so much for taking the time and detailing it out for us!! I do so much better when it has been figured out for me!! I love coupons and I love deals!! Can you give me any suggestions on how to get extra inserts so I can have multiply coupons? I can never have enough diaper coupons!!

    Also, dont know if you know this but Wegmans will accept Top’s double dollar coupons. I know it is not exactly ethical but I go between both stores and use as many as I can to get the best benefits during this week!

    thanks again, love this blog!!

    • Hi Stephanie… Thank you so much for your kind words… I love doing this and I love the deals I am hearing about… TOGETHER we can all share!!! My goal is to do more match ups so the savings should get better and better!

      Personally I buy two papers each Sunday… $4 per week (Well $6 with my cup of Dunkies Coffee) is not to much for my favorite hobby… But I ahve about four other places that save inserts for me…. The stores generally just throw the inserts away, so if you can pick up some of their “trash” you may get extra!!

      I would be happy to share diaper coupons as well as THANKFULLY I have no need for them any longer!! 🙂

  2. So far I have bought $281.55 worth of groceries for $83.88 this week and I am going back for more. I wish all weeks were like this with coupons!

  3. yesterday I bought $195.95 worth of groceries and paid $87.00 and so far have $1.30 off gas and I too am planning another trip to Tops tomorrow. If all goes as planned I will be getting my gas for FREE as well. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

    • Tracey – OMG girl – 1.30 per gallon is the money = of $39.00… so your out of pocket (87-39.) = only $48.00…. YOU just saved 76% on your groceries!!! AMAZING!! I can’t wait to hear what else you get!!!!! keep up the FANTASTIC work!!

Leave a comment